Welcome to Water and Human Rights webinar on 18 November 2020

UPDATE on 18 November: The Nordic alcohol monopolies invite You to an online webinar on 18 November 2020.

The Nordic alcohol monopolies warmly invite You to a collaborative webinar together with producers, Nordic suppliers, industry initiatives and other stakeholders involved in our common supply chain for alcoholic beverages.

The day will include lectures and interactive workshops with focus on how the use of water potentially impacts human rights and practical examples of water efficiency. The webinar is continuation to our Nordic co-operation, last year we organized a face-to-face event in Helsinki about Sustainable Rum. The webinar will be held in English. Please find the invitation attached.


Water and Human rights Webinar

(note: in Swedish time)

13.00-13.10 Opening words, Magdalena Gerger CEO Systembolaget - on behalf of the Nordic Alcohol Monopolies

13.10-13.55 Study report on Water & HR impact in the beverages industry, presentation, questions & answers, Elin Weyler SIWI 

13.55-14.10 1st split out discussion/workshop 

14.10-14.25 Challenges and strategies in spirit production, Ullrich Adam, Director General Spirits Europe

14.25-14.40 Challenges and strategies in beer production, Eskild Andersen Sustainability Manager Carlsberg Group

14.40-14.55 Case study South Africa/Western Cape - Water integrity in a holistic view, Erna Blancquaert (PhD) Department of Viticulture and Oenology, Faculty of AgriSciences 

14.55-15.05 Break 10 min

15.05-15.20 Techniques and innovations for saving water in California grape growing regions, Allison Jordan Executive Director, California Sustainable Winegrowing Alliance

15.20-15.35 2nd split out discussion/workshop

15.35-16.00 Conclusions and findings - WS results, summary of the day and strategy how to turn words into action

Please register to the event latest by Wednesday 11 November 2020.

Register here


18 November 2020
1 p.m - 4 p.m CET

Hanna Helgesdotter Sutherlin


Laura Varpasuo

Rolf Erling Eriksen

Sigurpáll Ingibergsson