Supervisory Board

Alko's Supervisory Board has 12 members, whom the Government appoints for four calendar years at a time.

The Government also appoints the Chairman and the Vice Chairman of the Supervisory Board.

The task of the Supervisory Board is to ensure that the company's affairs and administration are handled according to sound business principles with an eye to profitability, and that the law, the provisions of the Articles of Association, decisions of the Annual General Meeting and other approved instructions are complied with.

It is also the task of the Supervisory Board to monitor trends in alcohol matters in Finland and abroad and, based on this, to give general instructions for the development of the alcohol company's operations.

The Supervisory Board, moreover, gives the Annual General Meeting a statement concerning the company's financial statements and auditors' report.

The representation of the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health on the company's Supervisory Board is decreed in Section 38 of the Alcohol Act.

The Supervisory Board of 2016-2019

  • Vesa-Matti Saarakkala, Chairman
  • Anna-Maja Henriksson, Vice Chairman
  • Tuula Haatainen, Member
  • Susanna Huovinen, Member
  • Juha Rehula, Member
  • Osmo Kokko, Member
  • Pauli Kiuru, Member
  • Ulla Parviainen, Member
  • Aino-Kaisa Pekonen, Member
  • Pekka Puska, Member
  • Päivi Räsänen, Member
  • Sari Sarkomaa, Member

Director Jari Keinänen represents the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health.